Health and Wellbeing in Developmental Disabilities

2024 Committee

A special thank you to the Self-Advocates, family members, and support persons involved in our Advisory Council:

Amanda Blower, Sarah Flint & Carolyn Lee-Jones
Self-Advocates & Support Person
Surrey Place

Shannon Butt, CJ Lutke, Maggie May
International Adult Leadership Collaborative (ALC) of FASD Changemakers

Gabriel & Paul Cervenko
Self-Advocate & Parent

Ben Clement

Niko Pupella, Robert Smith, Amber Taylor
Community Living Ontario

Chelsea Rinquinha

Theresa Somerton

And also a special thank you to the Self-Advocates who contributed to our Program Committee:

Yvonne Spicer (Co-Chair)
Self Advocate

Michael McLellan
Self Advocate

Robert Smith (he/him)
Self Advocate, Community Living Ontario Council Member
Chair Of Self Advocates Group Northumberland, Member Of Community Living Respite Northumberland

And finally, a thank you also to all the additional people involved in helping to plan this conference:

Dara Abells MD CCFP MSc (Co-Chair) (she/her)
Family Physician
Surrey Place

Jennifer Altosaar (she/her)
Manager, Mashkikiiwininiwag Mazinaatesijigan Wichiiwewin (MMW) Video Conferencing Program
Surrey Place

Sarena Bacon MSW RSW (she/her)
Social Worker
Children’s Hospital of Eastern Ontario (CHEO)

Carrie Batt
Family Member, Grief Educator, End-of-life Doula

Natasha Bruno MSc (she/her)
Clinical Research Project Manager
The Hospital for Sick Children

Rémi Castonguay MLIS MA
Information Resource Manager
ACT – Autism Community Training

Angela Clancy (she/her)
Executive Director
Family Support Institute of British Columbia

Michelle Del Carmen BSW RSW (she/her)
Executive Director
The Centre for Dreams

Christopher Chipman BA BEd
Business Development Officer, Continuing Professional Development
Temerty Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto

Trevor Cuddy BCom BA MEd DBA(c)
Director, Continuing Professional Development Portfolio
Temerty Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto

Theresa Grech MC CCC CPRP
Counsellor/Behavioural Consultant/Faculty
TMG Counselling Group; The Developmental Disorders Program, University of British Columbia

Stephanie Henthorn MSW RSW (she/her)
Dual Diagnosis
Grey Bruce Health Services

Joelene Huber MD PhD FRCPC (she/her)
Developmental Pediatrician
The Hospital for Sick Children; Surrey Place

Jackie Kingsbury
Manager, Community Networks of Specialized Care – South East Region

Kayla Kostal (Co-Chair) BA(Hons) (she/her)
Graduate Student
University of Manitoba

Lindsay McCombe MA (she/her)
St. Amant Research Centre

Karen McNeil MD CCFP FCFP (she/her)
Family Physician
Dalhousie Family Medicine

Kim Nevilles
Director of Services and Supports
Kerry’s Place Autism Services

Preetinder Narang PhD BCBA (she/her)
Behaviour Analyst, K-12 Education
Surrey School District

Brianne Samson MOT (she/her)
Manager – Services & Community Development – Health
Community Living British Columbia

Megan Primeau MSc (she/her)
Conference Director, Continuing Professional Development
Temerty Faculty of Medicine, University of Toronto

Sandy Stemp (she/her)
Chief Operations Officer

Alicia Thatcher MD CCFP (she/her)
Family Physician

Lori Vaanholt (she/her)
National Vice Executive Director – Innovation and Impact
L’Arche Canada

Sarah Wallace
Hopewell Children’s Homes

Lucia Woolgar Exeni (she/her)
Graduate Student
University of British Columbia

Use the links below to access the committee lists from past events: